SNP results 2021: How many seats did Nicola Sturgeon get?

Nicola Sturgeon 'won't hurtle into referendum now' says expert

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Nicola Sturgeon has retained her own seat and held on to her position as First Minister following Thursday’s election. In her victory speech, SNP leader Ms Sturgeon told supporters the result proved a second independence vote was the “will of the country”. She said any Westminster politician who stood in the way was “picking a fight with the democratic wishes of the Scottish people”.

Ms Sturgeon said her focus would be recovery from the coronavirus pandemic, however, Scots will get the chance to decide on independence “when the time is right”.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson congratulated Ms Sturgeon on her re-election and said: “I would like to invite you to join me, UK Government colleagues and others at a summit meeting to discuss our shared challenges and how we can work together in the coming months and years to overcome them.

“We will all have our own perspectives and ideas – and we will not always agree – but I am confident that by learning from each other we will be able to build back better, in the interests of the people we serve.”

The election battle had been fraught with the quest for independence, Scotland’s recovery and relationship with Westminster – but how many seats did Nicola Sturgeon get?

Read More: Nicola Sturgeon threatens Boris Johnson with Supreme Court challenge 

The SNPs fell one seat short of a majority with 64 seats, however, combined with the pro-independence Scottish Greens they have 74 seats.

Ms Sturgeon saw her support rise in her Glasgow Southside constituency, from 15,287 in 2016 to 19,735 in 2021 – making her share of the vote 60 percent.

In her speech, the First Minister said: “It’s the privilege of my life to represent the most multi-cultural and diverse constituency in the whole of Scotland and not for the first time it has been targeted by far-right thugs.

“The far-right thug who led that confrontation got 46 votes and I am proud that once again Glasgow Southside has shown the racists and the fascists that they are not welcome in Glasgow Southside, they are not welcome in Glasgow, and they are not welcome anywhere in Scotland, and let that be a note of unity.”

The Greens – co-led by Patrick Harvie and Lorna Slater – gained two MSPs in Thursday’s ballot, growing from six to eight in Holyrood.

Douglas Ross’ Conservatives kept their 31 seats, the same figure previously won by Ruth Davidson.

Labour leader Anas Sarwar lost two seats compared to 2016’s election, with a total of 22 Labour MSPs.

The Liberal Democrats only achieved four seats, and so Willie Rennie’s party have lost their status as a major party.

Boris ‘walking backwards towards cliff of independence’ in Scotland [INSIGHT]
Boris warned indyref could ‘unravel UK’ by fuelling Welsh nationalism [ANALYSIS]
Laurence Fox’s Reclaim Party candidate wants ‘hard border’ with Scots [EXPLAINED]

Elsewhere, the creator of the new Alba Party and former First Minister Alex Salmond failed in his attempted return to Holyrood.

Records were broken this election, with Conservative Pam Gosal and SNP Kaukab Stewart becoming the first women of colour in Scottish Parliament.

And Labour candidate Pam Duncan-Glancy became the first permanent wheelchair user elected parliament.

Read on below for a full list of constituencies and the party now elected to represent them.

Full list of Scottish constituencies and how they voted

  • Aberdeen Central – SNP
  • Aberdeen Donside – SNP
  • Airdrie and Shotts – SNP
  • Angus North & Mearns – SNP
  • Argyll & Bute – SNP
  • Ayr – SNP
  • Banffshire & Buchan Coast – SNP
  • Caithness, Sutherland & Ross – SNP
  • Clackmannanshire & Dunblane – SNP
  • Clydebank & Milngavie – SNP
  • Coatbridge & Chryston – SNP
  • Cowdenbeath – SNP
  • Cunninghame North – SNP
  • Cunninghame South – SNP
  • Dumfriesshire – Conservative
  • Dumbarton – Labour
  • Dundee City West – SNP
  • East Lothian – SNP
  • Eastwood – Conservative
  • Edinburgh Central – SNP
  • Edinburgh Southern – Labour
  • Edinburgh Western – Lib Dem
  • Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire – Conservative
  • Falkirk East – SNP
  • Glasgow Anniesland – SNP
  • Glasgow Maryhill & Springburn – SNP
  • Glasgow Pollok – SNP
  • Glasgow Southside – SNP
  • Greenock & Inverclyde – SNP
  • Hamilton, Larkhall & Stonehouse – SNP
  • Inverness & Nairn – SNP
  • Kilmarnock & Irvine Valley – SNP
  • Kirkcaldy – SNP
  • Linlithgow – SNP
  • Midlothian North & Musselburgh – SNP
  • Moray – SNP
  • Motherwell & Wishaw – SNP
  • Na h-Eileanan an Iar – SNP
  • North East Fife – Lib Dem
  • Orkney – Lib Dem
  • Paisley – SNP
  • Perthshire North – SNP
  • Renfrewshire North & West – SNP
  • Rutherglen – SNP
  • Shetland – Lib Dem
  • Stirling – SNP
  • Strathkelvin & Bearsden – SNP
  • Aberdeenshire East – SNP
  • Aberdeen South & North Kincardine – SNP
  • Aberdeenshire West – Conservative
  • Almond Valley – SNP
  • Angus South – SNP
  • Carrick, Cumnock & Doon Valley – SNP
  • Clydesdale – SNP
  • Cumbernauld & Kilsyth – SNP
  • Dundee City East – SNP
  • Dunfermline – SNP
  • East Kilbride – SNP
  • Edinburgh Eastern – SNP
  • Edinburgh Northern & Leith – SNP
  • Edinburgh Pentlands – SNP
  • Falkirk West – SNP
  • Galloway & West Dumfries – Conservative
  • Glasgow Cathcart – SNP
  • Glasgow Kelvin – SNP
  • Glasgow Provan – SNP
  • Glasgow Shettleston – SNP
  • Mid Fife & Glenrothes – SNP
  • Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale – SNP
  • Perthshire South & Kinross-shire – SNP
  • Renfrewshire South – SNP
  • Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch – SNP
  • Uddingston & Bellshill – SNP

Source: Read Full Article